I Have a Degree: What Now?

Last night, at exactly 9:09 p.m, I finished my undergraduate degree. After four years of full class-loads, summer classes, and working almost full-time throughout it all, I. Am. Done. Subsequently, I am also unemployed now, as my last day of work was on Friday. After three years at the same company, I am done and it is the craziest feeling. I honestly do not know what I am going to do with all of my free time NOT spent working, or working on homework, or, if we are being honest, procrastinating on doing homework.

It hasn’t even been 24 hours and it already seems like I have a lot of spare time. I spent my day so far drinking coffee, day drinking on the beach, and reading (duh). Obviously, I am aware this is not a sustainable approach to living, but for today, Ima roll with it.

Hopefully with this extra time, I can spend more time doing the things I’ve wanted to do for years; take more pictures, spend more time with family, write more, and travel more. This week I go to Toronto, then to Jan Lake not long after, and in just under three weeks, I am off to Thailand and Cambodia!

I haven’t been away from home for longer than a week ever, so the prospect of being away for five weeks is both terrifying and exhilarating. Combined with the fact that I will be unemployed when I get back and likely will have no money (unless I win a Set for Life) I am a nervous wreck.

But today is a new day, and “nervous wreck/ball of stress” Willow is a thing of the past. Now, I am going to be “roll with the punches, cool travel bug with mysterious income that allows for frequent travel somehow” Willow.

Oh, does that not miraculously happen? Silly me.

Regardless of whether I lose all of my money and hate travelling (unlikely) I still get to come home to the safest place in the world.

If you thought I was talking about Canada, you are wrong.

I am talking about my parent’s basement 🙂

Follow along with my adventures on Instagram, @willowtreewanders

Leave a Reply

